Failure to Yield to an Emergency Vehicle

Failure to Yield to an Emergency Vehicle

las law - failure to yield to an emergency vehicle

Failing to yield to an emergency vehicle with its lights flashing is an offense in Michigan that can be charged as a civil infraction or a misdemeanor, under either MCL 257.653 or MCL 257.653a.

Under Michigan law, drivers are required to yield the right of way or pull over when an emergency vehicle is attempting to pass through traffic. Failure to do so can result in the driver being charged with a civil infraction under MCL 257.653.

On the other hand, a charge under MCL 257.653a is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment of not more than 90 days, or both. It can also result in four points on your driver’s record. Pursuant to this statute, drivers are required to move one lane over or, if not possible, reduce their speed as they pass when an emergency vehicle is stationary after having arrived at a scene of an accident or having pulled someone over.

Moreover, if by failing to yield a driver causes the injury or death of an emergency response personnel, they can be charged with a felony pursuant to MCL 257.653a.

Although these laws seem simple enough to follow, they are often forgotten about by drivers that are in a hurry. Our skilled attorneys at La Grasso, Abdo & Silveri can help represent you in court if you are charged with a failure to yield to an emergency vehicle offense. Finding resolution that can keep someone’s criminal record clean and keep you out of jail may be available. If you would like to set up a consultation to discuss your case further, please contact us or call (586) 413-7777 at your earliest convenience.

  • Call today for a free consultation

    (586) 413-7777

    OUR HOURS

    Monday to Friday 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM